Breaking will be offline for scheduled maintenance Saturday July 24 5 AM US EST to 8:30 AM EST. We apologize for the inconvenience.


Thank you for sharing!

Your article was successfully shared with the contacts you provided.

ATLANTA-Sen. Johnny Isakson (R-GA), former president of Northside Realty, will receive the Golden Pillar award in the fall from the Council for Quality Growth, a locally based group of developers which has honored individuals for their civic leadership over the past 15 years.

Isakson will be cited for his legislative efforts on transportation, conservation easements and affordable housing, brokers familiar with the developer group tell Isakson is a member of the Georgia Senate Transportation Committee.

Brokers and other sources in a position to know tell Isakson disagrees with a recent US Supreme Court ruling which declares private properties can be condemned by cities confident they can develop the sites, through private developers, for economic gains to an entire neighborhood.

Sources familiar with the senator’s position on current issues tell Isakson favors federal tax credits for a community’s purchase of conservation easements and also supports a future high-speed rail system, specifically a line from Atlanta to Washington, DC.

In an unrelated action, Gov. Sonny Perdue has named 14 members for a newly formed licensing board for residential and commercial general contractors.

Members in the general contractors division are Timothy F. Ansley, of Savannah, president and owner, Ansley-Sheppard-Burgess Co.; David Joseph Cyr, of Perry, president, Parrish Construction Group; Thomas M. Holder, of Atlanta, chairman/CEO, Holder Construction Co; Calvin S. Hopkins III, of Thomaston, president, Reddick Construction Co.; Roger S. Huggins, of Snellville, chairman, Rogers Construction Co; Daniel Phillip Cash, of Atlanta, senior vice president, Hellmuth, Obata & Kassabaum architects; and Morgan D. Wheeler Sr., of Stone Mountain, certified building official for Walton County.

Residential division members are Delmar Robert Barnard, of Fayetteville, owner, Barnard & Associates Remodeling; James Steven Cash, of Stockbridge, director of policy for the Henry County Council on Quality Growth and also a residential builder and developer; Mark B. Herbert, of Evans, president, Herbert Homes Inc.; Allen M. Richardson, of Lawrenceville, found and president, Richardson Housing Group and chairman of Builders Insurance; J. Phillip Thayer Jr., of Columbus, vice president, J.P. Thayer Co.; Melissa A. Henderson, of Walkinsville, director of code enforcement for Oconee County and also the Oconee fire marshal; and S. Guy Middleton, of Dahlonega, a farmer and businessman.

Want to continue reading?
Become a Free ALM Digital Reader.

Once you are an ALM digital member, you’ll receive:

  • Unlimited access to GlobeSt and other free ALM publications
  • Access to 15 years of GlobeSt archives
  • Your choice of GlobeSt digital newsletters and over 70 others from popular sister publications
  • 1 free article* every 30 days across the ALM subscription network
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM events and publications

*May exclude premium content
Already have an account?

Dig Deeper


Join GlobeSt

Don't miss crucial news and insights you need to make informed commercial real estate decisions. Join now!

  • Free unlimited access to's trusted and independent team of experts who provide commercial real estate owners, investors, developers, brokers and finance professionals with comprehensive coverage, analysis and best practices necessary to innovate and build business.
  • Exclusive discounts on ALM and GlobeSt events.
  • Access to other award-winning ALM websites including and

Already have an account? Sign In Now
Join GlobeSt

Copyright © 2021 ALM Media Properties, LLC. All Rights Reserved.